About ACES

ACES INFORMATION

The Association for Counselor Education and Supervision (ACES) is the premier organization dedicated to quality education and supervision of counselors in all work settings.  ACES members are counselors, supervisors, graduate students, and faculty members who strive to improve the education and supervision of counselors in training and in practice. ACES and the regional associations host conferences to highlight research and best practices in supervision and in the training of counselors. In addition ACES publishes a quarterly journal, Counselor Education and Supervision, which presents current issues, relevant research, proven practices, ethical standards and conversations in counselor training and supervision. ACES members have been and continue to be trailblazers in terms of the competencies for supervision, counselor training, research, multicultural competence, and advocacy. Many of the leaders of the counseling profession are members of ACES and there are always opportunities to become involved in leadership through task forces, committees, interest networks, and elected positions. 

Graduate students play an especially important role in ACES. Students enrolled in their doctoral studies in counselor education and supervision programs will find opportunities to work with and learn from current faculty members and leaders in the counseling profession. In addition, the conferences provide opportunities to network with other counseling professionals, and to present their research and experiences to professional colleagues.
 
The primary purpose of the Association, in accordance with the purpose of ACA, is to advance counselor education and supervision in order to improve the provision of counseling services in all settings.

You may join ACES by logging on to the ACA website, http://www.counseling.org or by calling ACA at 800-347-6647.

 

ACES Leadership 2016-2017

Below is a list of the current Executive Council Members. This council forms the governing body of ACES. The Executive Council meets annually in June and at the ACA conference. In ACES conference years, the Executive Council also meets at the ACES conference.

 

ACES officers 2016-2017:

President: Heather Trepal (heather.trepal@utsa.edu)

President Elect: Summer Reiner (summer.reiner@brockport.edu)

Past President: Tarrell Portman (tportman@winona.edu)

Executive Director: Marsha Wiggins (execaces@gmail.com)

Secretary: Heather Helm (heather.helm@unco.edu)

Treasurer: Brian Dew (bdew@gsu.edu)

 

ACES Governing Council Members 2016-2017:

President: Heather Trepal (heather.trepal@utsa.edu)

President Elect: Summer Reiner (summer.reiner@brockport.edu)

Past President: Tarrell Portman (tportman@winona.edu)

Executive Director: Marsha Wiggins (execaces@gmail.com)

Secretary: Heather Helm (heather.helm@unco.edu)

Secretary Elect: Linwood Vereen Treasurer: Brian Dew (bdew@gsu.edu)

Governing Council Representative: Marty Jencius (mjencius@kent.edu)

 

North Atlantic Region ACES:

President: Derek Seward

President Elect: Mike Marinsky

 

North Central Region ACES:

President: Julie Robinson

President Elect: Susannah Wood

 

Rocky Mountain ACES:

President: Kris Goodrich

President Elect: Heather Ambrose

 

Southern ACES:

President: Melanie Iarussi

President Elect: Casey Barrio Minton

 

Western ACES:

President: Keely Hope

President Elect: Thom Field

 

Graduate Student Representatives:

Present: Yi-Wen Sue

Designee: Harvey Peters

Past: Farhana Sabri